We all have taken THESE surveys, is it ethical?

DanaEm

Today I took a survey about credit cards. I only have one. I was still asked to answer a lot of very detailed questions about CC companies I have never done business with. This happens in more surveys than I can can count.

I get that same old line that says "please answer how much you agree or disagree with these statements, if you have not used the product, company, whatever, just give your impressions".

When I am answering these I try to stick in the middle, I will pick number 5 or "neither agree or disagree" until it looks like I may be straight-lining, but they are asking questions about things like customer service when they KNOW I have no experience with that company.

I wonder I the companies know exactly what survey questions are asked or if the just hire someone to create surveys and only see the end results.

Any thoughts?

I do the same thing. Middle of the road for all questions unless they ask to answer a question a certain way to see if you are paying attention. :D They must have their reasons. Pinecone does the same thing for new products being introduced even though you have never ever tried the new product. Don't think it has anything to do with ethics but on the surface does not seem to yield any benefit to them. I treat these the same way I treat questions about if a product was human. Seriously? Grasping at straws to elicit opinions.

Oh I know! I forgot about those, they are just weird sometimes. I don't think what I am doing is unethical since I tell the truth in the first place and don,t lie about what products I have or have not used. I am more curious about the survey creator.

Today I took a survey about credit cards. I only have one. I was still asked to answer a lot of very detailed questions about CC companies I have never done business with. This happens in more surveys than I can can count.